What are the different types of NPI numbers

What are the different types of NPI numbers?

An NPI is a ten-digit, unique numeric identity for healthcare professionals.

An NPI number is mandatory for healthcare professionals and is widely used in a variety of ways, such as billing, insurance, Medicare and Medicaid, pharmacy information, and state-specific medical boards. Under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act, NPIs have replaced health care provider identifiers used for standard transactions.

A provider’s NPI will not change regardless of job or location change(s).

Type of NPI numbers

There are two types of NPI numbers:-

Type 1:- Type 1 NPIs are assigned to individual providers. It includes individuals such as sole proprietors, dentists, physicians, and surgeons.

Type 2:- Type 2 NPIs are assigned to Organizational Providers. It includes health care providers who are organizations, including physician groups, hospitals, nursing homes, and the corporation formed when an individual incorporates him/herself.

When Did NPI Numbers Begin?

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) began work on a healthcare provider identification system in July 1993, with the goal of meeting the demands of the Medicare and Medicaid programmes as well as a nationwide identity system for all providers.

What are the different types of NPI numbers

The National Provider Identifier (NPI) was established as this standard by the NPI Final Rule, which was issued on January 23, 2004.

How to Apply for an NPI

If a person or organisation requires an NPI, they must apply with NPPES. Fox Systems, Inc., acts as the Enumerator contracted to act as support for NPIs.

Fox Systems is responsible for processing provider applications, assigning NPI numbers, resolving application difficulties, and answering queries about NPIs.

For NPI registry, NPPES is the best NPI registry option.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.